top of page

Free Play

Hi! Do you believe that children need fresh air and to play outside, preferably every day?


playing outside after art class

I do! We now have an initiative in Newburyport called "Youth Thrive" that helps to empower young people and it encourages parents to create more opportunities for free play for their children. It's a great idea but the struggle is real. The pull of technology is strong and if there are no children outside then kids don't want to go outside to play. So how do you resolve that?


Well I am no expert but I tend to make opportunities for my children to meet up with others without inserting myself in the mix. I also like to bring my kids into nature to make it more accessible, and once they've found their mojo in the woods I back away as subtly as I can. Also I feel that making art in nature is something that grounds children into the earth and all its goodness, and gives them a stronger appreciation of the outdoors.


I'm interested to see where this initiative goes, and how they come up with fresh new ideas for parents who want their kids to play. For more check out the article below in the Newburyport Daily News entitled "Newburyport's Webber family finds ways to stay outdoors" and #NYS #Youth_Thrive


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page